KeTSA: National Energy Awards 2020 Winners Announced

Published : Thursday, November 19, 2020, 7:00 am
ACROFAN=PRNewswire | | SNS

PUTRAJAYA, Malaysia, Nov. 19, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- The Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (KeTSA) is pleased to announce the winners of the National Energy Awards (NEA) 2020. 30 from the total 110 participants of the NEA were selected as winners of NEA 2020 through a rigorous evaluation process involving a panel of professional and experienced judges which comprises three categories:  Category 1 - Energy Efficiency, Category 2 - Renewable Energy and Category 3 - Special Awards.

Winners of National Energy Awards 2020 (NEA 2020)
Winners of National Energy Awards 2020 (NEA 2020)

The participants of NEA 2020 comprised organisations that have transformed their operations or buildings to be more energy efficient and/or those that have successfully implemented renewable energy systems to reduce carbon footprint. KeTSA remains committed in honouring Malaysia's pledge to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and believes that support from industry players in the development of renewable energy and energy efficiency is pivotal to achieve the country's commitment.

Winners of Category 1 and 2 will be representing Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards (AEA) 2020. Results of the AEA 2020 are expected to be announced during the 38th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM) on November 19.

It is hoped that the national recognition will bring the industry players beyond the national borders and project them into international limelight worthy of professional acclaim. NEA 2020 winners are in perfect position to become industry leaders not only within Malaysia but also the entire Southeast Asian region.

YB Dato' Dr. Shamsul Anuar bin Hj Nasarah, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, congratulated the winners for their great achievements in further developing the sustainable energy landscape of Malaysia.

"The winners have all done a great job in furthering the country's progress towards a more sustainable future. As part of this vision, I hope that they will also share their best practices with other organisations so that they may also develop sustainable practices and further expand the benefits of efficient energy management. Based on past achievements, it is my earnest hope that Malaysian organisations will continue to fly our flag high at the ASEAN Energy Awards 2020," said YB Dato' Dr. Shamsul Anuar bin Hj Nasarah, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources.

Three Special Awards for Institute of Higher Education, Sustainable Energy Financing and Energy Performance Contracting (EPC) were also introduced in this edition of NEA. The Special Awards were introduced to encourage private and public universities to undertake RE and EE initiatives, to recognise financial institutions' support in financing RE and EE projects, and to promote Energy Performance Contracting (EPC) in Malaysia.

"The growing number of sectors participating in NEA is a positive sign that more industry players are embracing the best practices set out by sustainable energy champions in the country. ESCOs play an important role in promoting energy efficiency in business operations and financial institutions should create more green-related financing products that can attract RE and EE investments," said Shamsul Anuar.

Ultimately, the objective of NEA is to encourage companies and institutions in Malaysia to reduce carbon footprint by minimising dependence on fossil-fuel generated electricity. The gains of such initiatives extend beyond promising a cleaner and greener future. It carries the added benefit of increasing our GDP through new sources of growth from the adoption of RE technologies and EE practices.

For more information, please visit

About NEA

NEA is an annual recognition to acknowledge outstanding achievements and best practices in driving the country's sustainable energy agenda. The award was inaugurated in 2018 as part of the Ministry's initiative to promote energy efficiency and renewable energy in Malaysia.

Copyright © acrofan All Right Reserved

    Acrofan     |     Contact Us :     |     Contents API : RSS

Copyright © Acrofan All Right Reserved