Winners of the German Computer Game Awards 2024

Published : Friday, April 19, 2024, 8:52 pm
ACROFAN=Newswire | | SNS
The best games of the year and the creative teams behind them were in the spotlight at the grand award ceremony of the German Computer Game Award 2024. The event on 18 April in Munich presented the most important award in the German games industry to winners across 15 categories. The award for the ‘Best German Game’ went to the space game EVERSPACE 2 by ROCKFISH Games. The survival horror game Ad Infinitum developed by upcoming young talent at Hekate won in three categories: ‘Best Debut’, ‘Best Story’ and’ Best Audio Design’. Pixel Maniacs from Nuremberg was named ‘Studio of the Year’ and the audience award for ‘Player of the Year’ went to Maurice Weber. The ‘Special Jury Award’ went to the initiative for accessibility in gaming ‘Gaming ohne Grenzen’ (Gaming without Borders).

The Eisbach Studios in Munich played host to many guests on the awards night, including personalities from government, culture and society, as well as countless prominent representatives from the industry. Award presenters included Minister-President of Bavaria Dr Markus Söder, Parliamentary State Secretary to the Minister for Economic Affairs and Climate Action Michael Kellner, comedian Marti Fischer, actor Özgür Karadenis, streamer Layna and journalist and author Ronja von Rönne.

The awards are sponsored by the Federal Government, represented by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, and game – the German Games Industry Association. This year’s award ceremony was sponsored by the Bavarian State Ministry for Digital Affairs.

Michael Kellner, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action said: “I would like to congratulate all of the winners on their great games and the awards they have received. This year’s DCP particularly demonstrates the wide range and creativity of games developed in Germany. This enormous diversity and creativity must be expanded further, and the potential of the industry must be utilised even more. As the Federal Government, we want to make an important contribution to this through our new games funding. The funding is to help ensure that games such as this year’s best international game also go on to be developed in Germany.”

Felix Falk, Managing Director at game - the German Games Industry Association said: “The outstanding winning titles this year are an impressive demonstration of the great achievements that German game developers continue to produce. Once again, the German Computer Game Awards are proof of the creativity and innovative spirit of the German games industry, even in the difficult economic situation of recent months. Once again, we can see the huge potential of Germany as a location for the games industry, especially as this year there were more games made possible by federal funding than ever before. This shows that the right framework conditions unleash the true power of studios in Germany. Congratulations to the winners of the German Computer Game Awards 2024!”

All winners in 2024:

Best German Game (prize money: 100,000 euros)

The other nominees will each receive 30,000 euros:
Atlas Fallen (Deck 13 Interactive/Focus Entertainment)
Fall of Porcupine (Critical Rabbit/Assemble Entertainment)

Best International Game (not endowed)
Baldur’s Gate 3 (Larian Studios)

Best Family Game (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Spells & Secrets (Alchemist Interactive/rokaplay)

Newcomer Award – Best Debut (prize money: 60,000 euros)
Ad Infinitum (Hekate/NACON)

The other nominees will each receive 25,000 euros:
Fall of Porcupine (Critical Rabbit/Assemble Entertainment)
Lose CTRL (Play From Your Heart)

Newcomer Award – Best Prototype (prize money: 50,000 euros)

Misgiven (Symmetry Break Studio)

The other nominees will each receive 25,000 euros:
Bloodletter (Katharina “Mikey” Müller, David Cafisso, Marvin Braun, Alica Schneider/Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin)
EcoGnomix (Lars Hinnerk Grevsmühl, Lars Eble, Bahy Nguyen, Marcel Zurawka, Alec Shae)
Footgun: Underground (Eduard Dobermann, Theo Lohmüller, Georg Nimke, Robert Pistea, Lukas Salewsky)
REPLICORE (Sarah Inés Roeder, Rody Nawezi, Leonhard Gläser, Maximilian Götz/HAW Hamburg)

Best Innovation and Technology (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Marble Maze (Fox-Assembly)

Best Serious Game (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Friedrich Ebert – Der Weg zur Demokratie (Playing History/Stiftung Reichspräsident-Friedrich-Ebert-Gedenkstätte)

Best Audio Design (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Ad Infinitum (Hekate/NACON)

Best Game Design (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Lose CTRL (Play From Your Heart)

Best Graphic Design (prize money: 40,000 euros)
The Bear – A Story from the World of Gra (Mucks! Games)

Best Mobile Game (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Cat Rescue Story (Tivola Games)

Best Story (prize money: 40,000 euros)
Ad Infinitum (Hekate/NACON)

Studio of the Year (prize money: 50,000 euros)
Pixel Maniacs

Player of the Year (award only)
Maurice Weber

Special Jury Award (prize money: 10,000 euros)
Gaming ohne Grenzen

Copyright © acrofan All Right Reserved

    Acrofan     |     Contact Us :     |     Contents API : RSS

Copyright © Acrofan All Right Reserved